Confidence in Choices

The sun was just beginning to peek its head over the horizon. I was dressed and ready to go to school, tea in hand. Linnea folded her arms across her chest and with droopy eyes and an outturned lip said, “I don’t want you to go to school.” My response? I immediately hugged her and said softly,”I don’t want to either, sweetheart.”

In that moment, it was the truth. I wanted to put back on my pjs, make her a steaming bowl of oatmeal, and drive her to her preschool, walking hand-in-hand to her cubby. Instead, I said good bye after multiple kisses and hugs and drove north to the high school where I teach. On the way there though, I couldn’t help but think, maybe I should have chosen a different response to her statement.

As parents, we are faced with an endless amount of choices: As mundane as a bedtime and as complex as whether to be a working parent. And I can’t help but think that whatever we choose, we ultimately should feel happy AND confident in those choices. It’s clear I need to work on the latter.

A page from Wherever You Are: My Love Will Find You, By Nancy Tillman And an inspirational message (Gotta love those Yogi tea quotes!):

One thought on “Confidence in Choices

Leave a Reply

