Slowing Down

“If you’re having difficulty coming up with new ideas, then slow down. For me, slowing down has been a tremendous source of creativity. It has allowed me to open up — to know that there’s life under the earth and that I have to let it come through me in a new way. Creativity exists in the present moment. You can’t find it anywhere else.”

Natalie Goldberg

A dear friend once told me that happiness is about floating down the river of life. If in doubt, just float, he would encourage.

Lately though, the water has been choppy, and the idea of floating hasn’t been as appealing. So, I am trying to be more at peace with what life brings my way, and perhaps, through that openness, I will find the inspiration to write more consistently. Writing, for me, is both cathartic and creative. So, here is my commitment to…slowing down. Slowing down to see the stories right in front me, and not being afraid to write them down.


“Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open. ”

-Natalie Goldberg

6 thoughts on “Slowing Down

  1. Libbi,

    Your words speak true. Slowing down amidst the busyness of life is imperative. Ultimately, some things matter and others do not.

    Be well. Email me sometime for a virtual cup o’ joe, or spot of tea, or whatever you favor.

    Like

  2. Read this now after you have survived the challenges and been so blessed by your faithfulness…. Love you and thank God for you all the time

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

